Saint Catherine’s Monastery

Its construction goes back to the 4th century AD. It lies in the foothills of Mount Sinai and it includes:

1 – The Basilica
Built by Emperor Justinian in the 6th century AD with its three sections comprising the sanctuary, the altar and the nave. Above the arch of the sanctuary, there are the oldest and most beautiful mosaics in the Eastern Orthodox Church.

2 – The Chapel of the Burning Bush
Behind the main church of the monastery.

3 – The Library
The library of the monastery is said to rank second only to that of the Vatican with the extensive collection of 3500 rare manuscripts in various languages.

4 – The Mosque
It lies beside the main church, constructed in the reign of the Fatimid Caliph, Al-Amer Bi-Ahkam Allah, in the 11th century, symbolic of love and fraternity in Egypt.

5 – Museum of the Monastery
It hosts a rare collection of 2000 icons. There are exhibits of precious objects offered as gifts sent by kings and rulers of the Christian world in the form of crosses, gold crowns inlaid with precious stones and also gold plated chandeliers.

Mount Sinai
It is 2285 metres high. On its summit there is a small church and a mosque. Visitors are keen on climbing the mountain to watch sunrise. It is said that this was the mountain in which Moses received the Ten Commandments.